Watch Live

Here us the schedule for this week –

Thursday, October 10th:

5:00pm – Ward 1
Ward Alderman

8:30pm – Ward 2

School Committee

Link to watch live:

— Here’s a link to last week’s debate coverage:

Channel (Comcast 9, RCN 13, Verizon 33) and streamed online via our website

Thursday, October 3rd

7:00pm   – Ward 2 Ward Alderman
8:00pm – Ward 5 Alderman At Large

Thursday, October 10th

6:30pm – Ward 1 Ward Alderman
8:00pm – Ward 2 School Committee

Thursday, October 29th

7:00pm – 8:30pm – Mayoral Debate (In collaboration with the Chamber of Commerce)

Decision 2013 Newton Votes – Election coverage on NewTV’s Government Channel (Comcast 9, RCN 13, Verizon 33) and streamed online on NewTV’s website (linked to image above as well).

The City of Newton will hold a municipal election this Fall for the offices of Mayor, Board of Aldermen and School Committee. A preliminary election is scheduled to take place on Tuesday, September 17, 2013 for the offices of Ward Alderman, Ward One and Mayor. All candidates have been invited to participate in a LIVE debate to broadcast on NewTV’s Government Channel (Comcast 9, RCN 13, Verizon 33) and streamed online via our website:Office of Mayor – Thursday, September 12, 2013, 7:00pmViewers are encouraged to take part in the debate by submitting questions for the candidates via Facebook, Twitter and via email at

In collaboration with the Newton Chapter of the League of Women Voters, NewTV will produce a series of debates through the preliminary and general elections.  All candidates will be invited to take part in the forum.

Mayoral Candidates The office of Mayor requires the elected designee to serve as the city’s chief executive officer by running the day-to-day affairs of municipal operations as well as appointing key staff members. The term of this position is four years.Board of Aldermen Candidates The Board of Aldermen consists of twenty-four members, sixteen of which are elected at large, and eight of which are elected by a specific ward.

School Committee Candidates The School Committee consists of eight members, each representing a ward within the city. Each member is elected by a citywide vote.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.